Author Topic: Flip Mode ... interesting thought  (Read 3198 times)

Whirligig

  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 225
    • View Profile
Flip Mode ... interesting thought
« on: March 17, 2013, 10:50:18 AM »
Ever notice that in Flip Mode, you could technically play as if it were normal mode, and the keystrokes used to win are exactly the same? So hypothetically, if you could open two copies of VVVVVV, with one set to flip mode and the other not, and both could detect keystrokes ... you could play both at once!

MegaBrutal

  • Crewmate
  • **
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Re: Flip Mode ... interesting thought
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2013, 11:02:23 AM »
Hmm... really... Though it's obvious, if you think about it... Flip Mode is really just the same game with the screen being rotated by 180. Only there are a few tweaks, like the text not being flipped, "floor"/"ceiling" being replaced consistently in Intermission 1, and Positice Force playing backwards in The Tower.

Dav999

  • Global Moderator
  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 2171
    • View Profile
    • The Open Level Project
Re: Flip Mode ... interesting thought
« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2013, 11:23:18 AM »
Flip Mode is really just the same game with the screen being rotated by 180.

Then it would not work, it's flipped, not rotated :)

MegaBrutal

  • Crewmate
  • **
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Re: Flip Mode ... interesting thought
« Reply #3 on: March 17, 2013, 11:39:16 AM »
Flip Mode is really just the same game with the screen being rotated by 180.

Then it would not work, it's flipped, not rotated :)

Shit, really! That would require the inverse keystrokes (left and right replaced). So it is proven that I'm stupid; and there is a huge difference between flip and rotation - though what I said is true to Flip Mode regardless.

blue626

  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 672
  • I changed my avatar!
    • View Profile
Re: Flip Mode ... interesting thought
« Reply #4 on: March 17, 2013, 04:48:25 PM »
Actually, someone discovered that before. Here's a 3-year-old quote:

Now someone should stand on the block with the flip play mode enabled. =D
Woowoo!  Gotta relearn Doing Things the Hard Way backwards.

[image]

That was surprisingly hard. Although the keypresses are exactly the same (because left-right isn't flipped), the flip mode totally threw off my timing and I practically had to relearn it.

It's the image that makes it harder. I think it has to do with our brains keep thinking that it's rotated 180 and only some tenths of a second later we remember that it's just flipped vertically...
EDIT: Well, at least I think that's why I found it harder.
« Last Edit: March 17, 2013, 04:50:39 PM by blue626 »

Hejmstel

  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 502
  • Formerly "Doormat"
    • View Profile
    • My hardly used YT account
Re: Flip Mode ... interesting thought
« Reply #5 on: March 17, 2013, 07:33:03 PM »
I searched up "have 2 windows in focus"... and all I got was stuff about the Samsung Focus 2. >:( So, I tried "have 2 windows in focus -samsung" and I think I may have found something. *reads page* Noop.

I'm going to try and use something to record my keystrokes and play through the whole game, then playback in flip mode.

EDIT: Found something, but it's not reliable as it doesn't record delays. Trying something else.
EDIT2: That one didn't work either! :'( Oh man, I wish there were a way to keep 2 windows in focus...
« Last Edit: March 17, 2013, 08:06:24 PM by Doormat »

FIQ

  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 810
  • https://github.com/FredrIQ/
    • View Profile
    • FIQ
Re: Flip Mode ... interesting thought
« Reply #6 on: March 18, 2013, 06:52:01 AM »
VVVVVV has a recording mode that playbacks your exact movements. Though I don't think it's accessible in 2.x.

Dav999

  • Global Moderator
  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 2171
    • View Profile
    • The Open Level Project
Re: Flip Mode ... interesting thought
« Reply #7 on: March 18, 2013, 08:00:48 AM »
VVVVVV has a recording mode that playbacks your exact movements. Though I don't think it's accessible in 2.x.

Do you know how to access it? (At least in 1.X, if it isn't accessible in 2.X?)

Though a lot of things got ported to the C++ version, like beta elements and prototype things, and unused scripting commands...

FIQ

  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 810
  • https://github.com/FredrIQ/
    • View Profile
    • FIQ
Re: Flip Mode ... interesting thought
« Reply #8 on: March 18, 2013, 09:03:18 AM »
VVVVVV has a recording mode that playbacks your exact movements. Though I don't think it's accessible in 2.x.

Do you know how to access it? (At least in 1.X, if it isn't accessible in 2.X?)

Though a lot of things got ported to the C++ version, like beta elements and prototype things, and unused scripting commands...
I'm pretty sure the recording got ported as well, after all pretty much everything else was. Though, it might need altering of code to access, and then it would be pretty much impossible in 2.X. I dunno, ask Terry.

blue626

  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 672
  • I changed my avatar!
    • View Profile
Re: Flip Mode ... interesting thought
« Reply #9 on: March 19, 2013, 07:02:28 AM »
Doormat: I think Whirligig meant that you could play botth at once if it were possible to have 2 windows in focus at the same time.

FIQ: Do you actually have 1.x and enabled that mode? Or are you saying that there is that mode in 1.x. and you need to change code to enable it?
I have read a post by Terry saying that there is that mode...

FIQ

  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 810
  • https://github.com/FredrIQ/
    • View Profile
    • FIQ
Re: Flip Mode ... interesting thought
« Reply #10 on: March 19, 2013, 01:06:45 PM »
Doormat: I think Whirligig meant that you could play botth at once if it were possible to have 2 windows in focus at the same time.

FIQ: Do you actually have 1.x and enabled that mode? Or are you saying that there is that mode in 1.x. and you need to change code to enable it?
I have read a post by Terry saying that there is that mode...
I have 1.x yes, but I haven't touched that mode... In fact I have no idea how to activate it, but I know it's there.