Author Topic: Text boxes not working?  (Read 1057 times)

LafondaSaysMeow

  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 375
  • woah im gone again?? who would've thought
    • View Profile
Text boxes not working?
« on: July 03, 2016, 09:42:09 AM »
I am currently finishing up the 4th area of terminality.
Buut the finalizing script is a little screwed up.
I don't know why.
The first part of a series of flashing and warping and some dialogue work fine.
But now the level complete screen that's supposed to load won't load.
Here's the main broken part (NOTE: This was done in VED with the internal scripting option)

Code: (t5tele) [Select]
hideplayer
gotoroom(8,12)
delay(90)
play(0)
text(cyan,-1,50,1)
LEVEL COMPLETE!
backgroundtext
speak_active
text(spoiler,-1,90,2)
You have found
(Spoiler)!
backgroundtext
speak
text(spoiler,-1,120,2)
Now use your
(Spoiler)!
backgroundtext
speak
text(cyan,-1,160,1)
Press ACTION to continue.
speak
endtext
NOTE: THE COLOR SPOILER IS AN ACTUAL COLOR IN THE SCRIPT

Basically, it is supposed to hide you and another crewmate (hideplayer and gotoroom)
Then delay a bit, and play Path Complete and show the level complete screen as shown above.
However, the script stops right after the delay is finished...
Every single time...
Any help?

shiny

  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 1557
  • Welcome to the MOTHER3 world
    • View Profile
    • my msuic
Re: Text boxes not working?
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2016, 09:43:52 AM »
pretty sure you forgot the speak command befote the text

LafondaSaysMeow

  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 375
  • woah im gone again?? who would've thought
    • View Profile
Re: Text boxes not working?
« Reply #2 on: July 03, 2016, 09:49:26 AM »
but then why does this work?
Code: (aftervictoriacutscene) [Select]
gotoroom(2,19)
delay(90)
play(0)
text(cyan,-1,50,1)
LEVEL COMPLETE!
backgroundtext
speak
and so on

by the way i said that the script stopped after the delay, which is play(0), before the text command

Dav999

  • Global Moderator
  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 2175
    • View Profile
    • The Open Level Project
Re: Text boxes not working?
« Reply #3 on: July 03, 2016, 09:50:22 AM »
It sounds like you're gotorooming straight into a script box (probably the script box for this script itself, you want to use gotoroom to hide a crewmate).

LafondaSaysMeow

  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 375
  • woah im gone again?? who would've thought
    • View Profile
Re: Text boxes not working?
« Reply #4 on: July 03, 2016, 09:55:38 AM »
oh i think i see
it's on the one making the crewmate
that would probably explain why the lab cutscene doesn't always work too

okay, it works now, thanks
locking
« Last Edit: July 03, 2016, 10:01:07 AM by LafondaSaysMeow »