Author Topic: My brothers first level?!  (Read 1068 times)

DubstVne

  • Doctor
  • ***
  • Posts: 47
    • View Profile
My brothers first level?!
« on: December 08, 2017, 06:42:54 PM »
So, I got my bro into doing VVVVVV. He went absolutely crazy when he saw you can make your own levels, and did all the scripting himself. Not the best I have ever seen, but for a beginner with no help, Very impressive. Download it here: https://mega.nz/#!RngGGBZa!lpl8IJr4PpKhafx7DUEFFvNKMSmiz_1KeqXgfX_RbqU (he looked at a few tutorials to script)

The Snikle Force

  • Crewmate
  • **
  • Posts: 28
  • You can't play without one
    • View Profile
Re: My brothers first level?!
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2017, 02:02:11 PM »
I'll download it after I get a less odd/suspicious link.

shiny k

  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 1527
  • Welcome to the MOTHER3 world
    • View Profile
    • my msuic
oof
« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2017, 02:29:19 PM »
I'll download it after I get a less odd/suspicious link.
yeah thats just mega its not really that suspicious i use it
buuut he should have uploaded it as an (zip) attachment so i can do that

also i will play this level i guess cuz why not

E: so i played it
for starters, i had to load it in the editor because the level name is "untitled level" for some reason
the ground doesnt line up in some places leading to bugs (Like between Viridians Room (Pretty lit), the start room, and Flippin Madness)
in Family Buisness (assuming you mean "business") the tiles on the right side are too close to the room barrier so it causes a small collision issue
in The Kitchen you can just rescue both crewmates and don't need to continue so consider putting a crewmate in the end room just so the player has an incentive to go there
so yeah it seems incomplete
not bad for a first level, it'd be cool if it was finished because it shows some promise


d/l
|
V
« Last Edit: December 09, 2017, 02:36:25 PM by shiny k »

DubstVne

  • Doctor
  • ***
  • Posts: 47
    • View Profile
Re: My brothers first level?!
« Reply #3 on: December 09, 2017, 02:42:48 PM »
I'll download it after I get a less odd/suspicious link.

Its not actually a virus, type in MEGA on your browser and there is no virus, or just scan the link with Norton Antivirus for evidence its not a virus.

The Snikle Force

  • Crewmate
  • **
  • Posts: 28
  • You can't play without one
    • View Profile
Re: My brothers first level?!
« Reply #4 on: December 09, 2017, 03:17:00 PM »
Ehh, not really my thing. I don't like levels that are full of huge swaths of wall and a rooms without much purpose or challenge. (The Chute, for example). The story could be good, but the visuals are a bit bland. Teach your brother about direct mode.

A also don't like repetitive challenges that take up an entire room, like in "Slowly but Surely." Challenges like that have been done before. Maybe put in some enemies to spice things up.  Leave less space on the top part with the conveyor.

SteveGamer68

  • Professor
  • ****
  • Posts: 182
  • Locked and Loaded.
    • View Profile
    • The open level project 2 forum
Re: My brothers first level?!
« Reply #5 on: December 09, 2017, 11:53:00 PM »
The level have some glitches (Viridian spawned in a block). So i move him up and make the level name so that i can know what level it is. When i played it for real, the game softlocks. I can't move but i can still quit the level. Other than that, i can't bring the map,save. When going to script editor, the scripts have capital letters and some symbols (like space bar). Script name can only have a-z, 0-9 and _. (tell me if i missed anything) A-Z and other symbols (not _) cannot be put in the script name. Intro, Info, Confuzzle, Shocked have a capital letter, so it won't work. transitions and oven works, because there's no capital letters or other symbols. crew encounter 1 have a space bar between, which you can't put. Solution:
Intro, Info, Confuzzle, Shocked -> intro, info, confuzzle, shocked. Don't replace oven and transitions. crew encounter 1 -> crew_encounter_1 or crewencounter1 or any name. To fix this, you need to delete most of the scripts and start scripting over.  :victoria:
For the design, there's some collision error. For the gameplay, i suggest making a little harder. Especially for the trinket challenge(s).
There's no internal scripting, which is fine for a beginner.
Difficulty is easy. Your brother can add some spikes in Down the Chute.
I suggest telling your brother that: Script names can only be a-z, 0-9 and _ (i don't know if - counts) and the fact that there's a white line to prevent collision errors. You could (or not) teach your brother about internal scripting. (Internal scripting could be hard for a beginner, so you could teach him later)

EDIT: I see players putting space between commands. Could that affects anything? (I don't put space between commands so i don't know)
« Last Edit: December 09, 2017, 11:54:58 PM by SteveGamer68 »

-Kiwi Alexia ♡

  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 1355
  • Hiii!~ <3
    • View Profile
    • Invision
Re: My brothers first level?!
« Reply #6 on: December 10, 2017, 08:51:25 AM »
Nothing really that special about the level.

DubstVne

  • Doctor
  • ***
  • Posts: 47
    • View Profile
Re: My brothers first level?!
« Reply #7 on: December 13, 2017, 04:19:45 PM »
The level have some glitches (Viridian spawned in a block). So i move him up and make the level name so that i can know what level it is. When i played it for real, the game softlocks. I can't move but i can still quit the level. Other than that, i can't bring the map,save. When going to script editor, the scripts have capital letters and some symbols (like space bar). Script name can only have a-z, 0-9 and _. (tell me if i missed anything) A-Z and other symbols (not _) cannot be put in the script name. Intro, Info, Confuzzle, Shocked have a capital letter, so it won't work. transitions and oven works, because there's no capital letters or other symbols. crew encounter 1 have a space bar between, which you can't put. Solution:
Intro, Info, Confuzzle, Shocked -> intro, info, confuzzle, shocked. Don't replace oven and transitions. crew encounter 1 -> crew_encounter_1 or crewencounter1 or any name. To fix this, you need to delete most of the scripts and start scripting over.  :victoria:
For the design, there's some collision error. For the gameplay, i suggest making a little harder. Especially for the trinket challenge(s).
There's no internal scripting, which is fine for a beginner.
Difficulty is easy. Your brother can add some spikes in Down the Chute.
I suggest telling your brother that: Script names can only be a-z, 0-9 and _ (i don't know if - counts) and the fact that there's a white line to prevent collision errors. You could (or not) teach your brother about internal scripting. (Internal scripting could be hard for a beginner, so you could teach him later)

EDIT: I see players putting space between commands. Could that affects anything? (I don't put space between commands so i don't know)

Thanks, I told him that he cant have spaces, but he did not listen. Also, he does not understand that you cant just do this for an internal script:
Code: [Select]
alarmon
say(1)'
WARNING! PRISIONER ESCAPING! KILL WITH NO HESITATION! DEAD OR ALIVE!
sad
reply(1)
This is bad...
when you actually have to:
Code: [Select]
say(-1) #trick the parser
text(1,0,0,4) #again, trick the parser
say(amount of lines until the last text1,0,0,4) #will activate all scripts until text(1,0,0,4)
<internalscript> #the internal script
endcutscene() #optional, but if you dont use it the bars will not dissapear.
untilbars #will wait until the bars are gone, but usually this is not used with a script with no bars.
loadscript(stop) #makes sure the script will turn off, if you dont use this, the script will not work.
text(1,0,0,4) # makes sure the parser is tricked.

SteveGamer68

  • Professor
  • ****
  • Posts: 182
  • Locked and Loaded.
    • View Profile
    • The open level project 2 forum
Re: My brothers first level?!
« Reply #8 on: December 16, 2017, 10:05:34 PM »
You can do method 2 of it in case if you want like no cutscene bars on textboxes or silently do something:
Code: (script1) [Select]
iftrinkets(0,script2)
Code: (script2example) [Select]
say(5)
internal
internal
internal
internal
internal
text(1,0,0,4)
say(4)
internal
internal
internal
internal
text(1,0,0,4)
say(2)
endtext
loadscript(stop)
text(1,0,0,4)

Let's analyze it: ( i use quote )
Quote
say(3)
internal
internal
internal

text(1,0,0,4)
say(2)
internal
internal

text(1,0,0,4)
say(2)
endtext
loadscript(stop)

text(1,0,0,4)

Red: Important stuff.
Green: Internal commands.
Blue: Also important.

Internal example (level):


EDIT: BTW, did you told him that you can't have spaces in script name or between scripts?
« Last Edit: December 18, 2017, 05:59:05 AM by SteveGamer68 »

DubstVne

  • Doctor
  • ***
  • Posts: 47
    • View Profile
Re: My brothers first level?!
« Reply #9 on: December 23, 2017, 07:06:22 PM »
Quote
EDIT: I see players putting space between commands. Could that affects anything? (I don't put space between commands so i don't know)

I know that simplified scripts will not do anything, but internal you have to have NO spaces between the script or the game will softlock (i think, but the script will not work). Usually spaces are to make the script look neat and give the reader of the script (Idk why they will view the level in the editior) an eye break. Heres an example of a neat simplified script (not the cool kind of neat)
Code: [Select]
reply(1)
Where am I?

say(1)
You are in solitary confinement. Please stay for 999999 years.

sad
reply(1)
Oh no.. This is bad...
delay(300)

happy
reply(1)
Wait! I have a warp token! I think I should use it..

reply(1)
Here it goes...

flash
delay(30)
flash
delay(10)
flash

iftrinkets(0,teleport)
If you use internal scripts, it will be line for line: (also this is a continuation of the script above)

Code: [Select]
say(-1)
text(1,0,0,4)
say(4)
gotoroom(x-1,y-1) # the x-1 and y-1 mean the X of the room subtracted by 1 and Y subtracted by 1.
endtext()
endcutscene()
loadscript(stop)
text(1,0,0,4)
<Blank line in VVVVVV, if your using VED, dont put a blank line.>

So yeah, thats an example of a script (that costs of 2)

TheMediocreToOkayGatsby

  • Crewmate
  • **
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: My brothers first level?!
« Reply #10 on: December 27, 2017, 10:34:59 AM »
The two script method doesn't need "say(-1)"

-Kiwi Alexia ♡

  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 1355
  • Hiii!~ <3
    • View Profile
    • Invision
Re: My brothers first level?!
« Reply #11 on: December 27, 2017, 11:51:15 AM »
He doesn't understand IS

SteveGamer68

  • Professor
  • ****
  • Posts: 182
  • Locked and Loaded.
    • View Profile
    • The open level project 2 forum
Re: My brothers first level?!
« Reply #12 on: January 11, 2018, 10:27:17 PM »
The two script method doesn't need "say(-1)"
Yeah, but it required 2 scripts instead of 1.
The first script redirect to the second script (iftrinkets is the best in this, you can use flags to make one-time IS script)
The second script contains the internal scripting.
Note of advice if you're using one-line IS only (like in my example), you can put the command directly. (still need the blank line though)
Code: (internalscript1) [Select]
changeplayercolour(red)