"Zany Protocol" by FlamingBanana

Started by FlamingBanana, August 10, 2011, 11:24:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

FlamingBanana

Zany protocol 1 [by FlamingBanana]

The security in this place is insane.

I spent a lot of time working on this and i hope you like it!
Its my first attempt at a VVVVVV level.
(And yes, the Prize For The Cleverly Stupid trinket is broken. Sorry. Go and take it if you wish.  :victoria: )

Dl link: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/36647697/z1P.vvvvvv
XML link: (i so totally did not need to include this) http://pastebin.com/86UY98aC

Version 1.0-Initial release

FlamingBanana

TheoX

Rating #034
Enjoyment: 6/10
Aesthetics: 6/10
Novelty: 4/10
Difficulty: 7.5/10
Room names: 7/10

This level needs a bit of work, I think.  Its worst aspect was probably that the level was a complete labyrinth, which wouldn't be a bad thing if there weren't so many RAE's (room alignment errors) - it's possible in MANY of the screens to go out one side and be stuck in a wall in another.  Also the maze-like quality of the level with no clear direction could easily cause the player to miss vital crewmates, especially in the "Bundle" area.

Rooms that particularly need improvement:

"Welcome to the Twilight Zone" - there's a little opening in the left that lets the player escape into space.  Actually, this was also a GOOD thing, because flying through space and drifting through walls was the only way I could reach "Cornered", since it's impossible to get in the opening behind the warp point in "I Can See My Reflection".  Vermillion was my final crewmate and I had to glitch out to get to him.

"Ledge Fund" - this room is a total mess.  The room name covers up the floor, or lack thereof, and I couldn't tell exactly what I was doing when one of the warp points threw me into a wall.  Also I never found my way to the top left area, and still have no idea how to get there even after finishing the level.