Player control while script is executing?

Started by C10H16, February 17, 2023, 03:44:51 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

C10H16

Hello! I am brand new to V6 internal scripting, and it's a blast! It's like learning a whole other coding language! I am very sad to not have my usual operators (var, for, while, arrays in general) but its fun making work arounds!

Anyway, I've been looking around the forum, but this has pretty much stumped me, is there any way to allow the player to move/have full range of abilities while a script is running? for example, if I wanted walls of enemies to slowly fill up the screen left to right, and make the player have to run away from said enemies, how would I grant the player the ability to move as the loop is running? is that possible?

EDIT: I should have seen this coming, 'slowly', aka, I'm spawning a line of enemies at once and then using delay(15) to make it so that each row spawns in one at a time, problem is, delay() seems to stop the player from being able to do anything as well. So, the solution lies in being able to delay the enemy spawning and not delay the player, which doesnt sound very possible if I cant use the delay() command

Thanks in advance!

EDIT: I found someone way smarter than me who made a timer do that whole urgency thing, makes way more sense! I'd still love to use my old idea though, so if you've got an idea, let me know

Dynaboom4

Okay, sorry if anybody has responded, but i will even if you've found a solution. I guess you've used my
timer editor, and i'm glad it helps. But if you want in general to work on ennemies, i recommend you not using the timer editor, there's a way easier method than the timer, that is really limitated.
So if you want to work on spawning custom entities, by that i mean with custom speed, custom positions ex...
First you need to understand what is internal script. To understand better i really recommend you to use VED. That is a way better editor than the VVVVVV one.