distractionware forums

Archived => VVVVVV Tech Support => Topic started by: Bearboy on July 09, 2012, 08:54:33 am

Title: Bearboys Q & A Center
Post by: Bearboy on July 09, 2012, 08:54:33 am
Okay, My Direct mode thing was solved, but I will still have other questions, so, Every question I have I will ask below, and if it is answered, the best answer will be listed underneath my question, making it a q and a. The answerers name will be put next to the answer so they get the credit. Okay? Good!

1.
Q: How do I make it so, in 2.1, i can make the computer, vitellary AND viridian talk in the same script? When I put in (X,Vitellary),
it makes the computer Vitellary as well.

A: say(1, Vitellary)
EXAMPLE
It comes up with a yellow box, as normal.
Then,
say(1, gray)
OTHER EXAMPLE
It's still gray.           -ToasterApocolypse


Q:Anyone know how to use flags? For example, If I want a certain dialogue to only happen once, and whenever Viridian goes back to that part, he says something different? When he says something different, its going to be the same thing every time he goes back. Any other knowledge would be great!   :viridian:



A:Make a script called script and a script called replace.
Script would say
ifflag(1,replace)
Blabla
flag(1,on)

And replace would say
other blabla

And that should do it.      -RoskillaHulk!!
Title: Re: Direct Mode Help?
Post by: Pyrite on July 09, 2012, 11:18:28 am
Ok.

Press F10.

The only tool you can use is walls
, but placing backing [with the walls tool] does not impede your progress.

Hold down CTRL for a menu to slide down, keep holding CTRL and use the arrow keys to select the tile.

Any tiles placed will function normally, as in walls are walls, spikes are spikes, but in a certain tileset (outside/warp zone/space station) one of the spikes in the square of them in the selection menu acts as backing.

Selectable tiles change in certain tilesets.

Be creative.

Shut up.
Title: Re: Direct Mode Help?
Post by: Bearboy on July 09, 2012, 11:28:46 am
Ok.

Press F10.

The only tool you can use is walls
, but placing backing [with the walls tool] does not impede your progress.

Hold down CTRL for a menu to slide down, keep holding CTRL and use the arrow keys to select the tile.

Any tiles placed will function normally, as in walls are walls, spikes are spikes, but in a certain tileset (outside/warp zone/space station) one of the spikes in the square of them in the selection menu acts as backing.

Selectable tiles change in certain tilesets.

Be creative.

Shut up.

Thanks for answering and being polite.  ;D
Title: Re: Direct Mode Help?
Post by: Arthur on July 09, 2012, 05:33:03 pm
There's one dangerous thing about direct mode: clicking while holding CTRL will make VVVVVV thinks you are holding down the right mouse button... Until you leave it! It will cause a lot of damage to your level, of course, so be very careful!
Title: Re: Direct Mode Help?
Post by: Bearboy on July 10, 2012, 04:59:54 am
There's one dangerous thing about direct mode: clicking while holding CTRL will make VVVVVV thinks you are holding down the right mouse button... Until you leave it! It will cause a lot of damage to your level, of course, so be very careful!
I experienced that and didn't know wha the heck was happening. But if you know its happening, just don't save, then leave
that was how i got out anyways...
Title: Re: Direct Mode Help?
Post by: Hilbert on July 10, 2012, 11:41:44 am
There's one dangerous thing about direct mode: clicking while holding CTRL will make VVVVVV thinks you are holding down the right mouse button... Until you leave it! It will cause a lot of damage to your level, of course, so be very careful!
I experienced that and didn't know wha the heck was happening. But if you know its happening, just don't save, then leave
that was how i got out anyways...
To get out of ctrl click you have to actually right click.
Title: Re: Direct Mode Help? (Now "Bearboys Questions)
Post by: Bearboy on July 11, 2012, 07:00:21 pm
I'm just gunna do a bump so people know that this section will have new content..
Title: Re: Direct Mode Help? (Now "Bearboys Questions)
Post by: ToasterApocalypse on July 11, 2012, 07:09:51 pm
For some weird reason, whenever I type in
say(1, Vitellary)
EXAMPLE
It comes up with a yellow box, as normal.
Then,
say(1, gray)
OTHER EXAMPLE
It's still gray.
Title: Re: Direct Mode Help? (Now "Bearboys Questions)
Post by: Hilbert on July 11, 2012, 07:38:00 pm
??
Title: Re: Direct Mode Help? (Now "Bearboys Questions)
Post by: Dav999 on July 11, 2012, 08:17:20 pm
For some weird reason, whenever I type in
say(1, Vitellary)
EXAMPLE
It comes up with a yellow box, as normal.
Then,
say(1, gray)
OTHER EXAMPLE
It's still gray.

What happens if you try without the space?
say(1,vitellary)
Title: Re: Direct Mode Help? (Now "Bearboys Questions)
Post by: Bearboy on July 13, 2012, 07:12:04 pm
Anyone know how to use flags? For example, If I want a certain dialogue to only happen once, and whenever Viridian goes back to that part, he says something different? When he says something different, its going to be the same thing every time he goes back. Any other knowledge would be great!  :viridian:
Title: Re: Direct Mode Help? (Now "Bearboys Questions)
Post by: Hilbert on July 13, 2012, 07:48:47 pm
Anyone know how to use flags? For example, If I want a certain dialogue to only happen once, and whenever Viridian goes back to that part, he says something different? When he says something different, its going to be the same thing every time he goes back. Any other knowledge would be great!  :viridian:
Make a script called script and a script called replace.
Script would say
ifflag(1,replace)
Blabla
flag(1,on)

And replace would say
other blabla

And that should do it.
Title: Re: Direct Mode Help? (Now "Bearboys Questions)
Post by: Bearboy on July 14, 2012, 08:55:21 pm
Anyone know how to use flags? For example, If I want a certain dialogue to only happen once, and whenever Viridian goes back to that part, he says something different? When he says something different, its going to be the same thing every time he goes back. Any other knowledge would be great!  :viridian:
Make a script called script and a script called replace.
Script would say
ifflag(1,replace)
Blabla
flag(1,on)

And replace would say
other blabla

And that should do it.

What about when I dont want any text displayed after the one script? I've tried leaving a script called "nothing" with nothing in it, but it has the cutscene bars.  :victoria:
Title: Re: Direct Mode Help? (Now "Bearboys Questions)
Post by: blue626 on July 14, 2012, 10:14:42 pm
Look at this thread: Script commands index and tips (http://distractionware.com/forum/index.php?topic=1038.0). Look at the bottom of the post, at how to make scripts run only once. That's more useful for script boxes, but, while using it in a terminal, it will do nothing the 2nd time you activate it.
Title: Re: Direct Mode Help? (Now "Bearboys Questions)
Post by: Hilbert on July 14, 2012, 10:15:53 pm
Make 3 scripts
Call one set1 and put

flag(1,on)

In it.
Then make a script called trigger1 and put

ifflag(1,1)

In it.
Then make one called 1 and put

R,mtdjyrcetvrkutfyrutrtuytrjyr ( random commands)
flag(1,off)


If set1 is acsessable after the script is played, you need to add

ifflag(2,recover1)

At the top of it and put

flag(2,on)

At the end of 1
Don't make a script called recover1 or you will get the bars. Also, don't change the music. That ends bad. Trust me. I tried. :viridian:
Title: Re: Direct Mode Help? (Now "Bearboys Questions)
Post by: blue626 on July 14, 2012, 10:31:54 pm
Did you read my post, or where you writing your post when I posted mine?

If set1 is accessible after the script is played, then, the my suggestion is more practical (it only needs 1 flag). If it isn't accessible after that, then it's equal considering the number of scripts and flags.
In your suggestion, you may create the recover1 script, but it must be empty.
Title: Re: Direct Mode Help? (Now "Bearboys Questions)
Post by: Hilbert on July 15, 2012, 02:52:26 pm
Did you read my post, or where you writing your post when I posted mine?
Mm Hmm.
I did all that and when you posted it kinda looked like a waste, so I posted it anyway. :vermillion:
Title: Re: Direct Mode Help?
Post by: Vallu on July 16, 2012, 05:12:09 pm
Hold down CTRL
THANK YOU VERY MUCH! I was thinking of how to do anything in direct mode, thanks for finally letting me know. I was so shocked when that thing popped out. Now I can create even better levels with this! :viridian:
Title: Re: Bearboys Q & A Center
Post by: Vallu on July 18, 2012, 11:48:11 pm
Is it possible to change tilesets to direct mode? My direct mode uses tileset 2 and those fast disappearing red blocks are in tileset 1. If it's possible to change them, how to do that?
Title: Re: Bearboys Q & A Center
Post by: Bearboy on July 19, 2012, 06:36:49 am
Is it possible to change tilesets to direct mode? My direct mode uses tileset 2 and those fast disappearing red blocks are in tileset 1. If it's possible to change them, how to do that?
I'm not sure what a tieset is but, try pressing F1 a few times?
Title: Re: Bearboys Q & A Center
Post by: Vallu on July 19, 2012, 07:38:15 am
I mean those tilesets wich come in direct mode when you press CTRL.
Title: Re: Bearboys Q & A Center
Post by: Bearboy on July 19, 2012, 08:08:26 am
I mean those tilesets wich come in direct mode when you press CTRL.
you press f1, i think there are only there are alot of options.
Title: Re: Bearboys Q & A Center
Post by: Vallu on July 19, 2012, 08:31:03 am
Oh! :vitellary: So the "Tileset" in direct mode depends on what tileset (F1) I'm using and since the direct mode has all tilesets, it's not a problem.  :viridian:
Title: Re: Bearboys Q & A Center
Post by: Hilbert on July 19, 2012, 11:13:44 am
Yeah, D.M. Is a little weird. By the way, you can get the minisand blocks as 10 on both Tilesets
Title: Re: Bearboys Q & A Center
Post by: FIQ on July 19, 2012, 12:33:02 pm
Oh! :vitellary: So the "Tileset" in direct mode depends on what tileset (F1) I'm using and since the direct mode has all tilesets, it's not a problem.  :viridian:
There are 2 tilesets (in custom levels), the space station one and the "others" one.