distractionware forums

VVVVVV => VVVVVV Levels => Topic started by: Dav999 on October 16, 2012, 08:58:26 pm

Title: Level: Dimension Dimension
Post by: Dav999 on October 16, 2012, 08:58:26 pm
So, this is my new level! It's called 'Dimension Dimension'. (Yes, choosing a name was that hard :P)

It's a 20x5 map which features:
-Two small puzzles
-Ten trinkets
-A gravitron (I'm sorry :victoria:)
-Internal scripting, of course
-Teleporters
-...and more.

It has an original story:
:victoria: and :vermillion: have gone missing! It's up to you to find them!
I think that is original enough. :D


Screenshots:

(http://imageshack.us/a/img5/1335/screen1nc.png)

(http://imageshack.us/a/img222/6316/screen2zx.png)

(http://imageshack.us/a/img202/2779/screen3ol.png)

(http://imageshack.us/a/img651/5868/screen4fx.png)

(http://imageshack.us/a/img829/126/screen5s.png)

VERSION HISTORY:

1.0
First version, downloaded 8 times

1.1
Some bug fixes
Downloaded 14 times

1.2
New direct mode editing, some areas look better now!
Downloaded 14 times

1.3
Fixed a bug which made the coin not appear if you collect a trinket, or the other way around.
Fixed pressing R in the puzzle rooms (it will still change sprites while dying, but they change back to normal after that)
Title: Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
Post by: ToasterApocalypse on October 17, 2012, 07:25:08 pm
What? Dav made a level? This is going to be awesome.

But alas, I'm such a lazy arse and can't be bothered to download it at the moment.
Title: Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
Post by: Dav999 on October 17, 2012, 07:26:57 pm
What? Dav made a level? This is going to be awesome.

Actually, this is my third level :viridian:
Title: Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
Post by: ToasterApocalypse on October 17, 2012, 07:28:26 pm
What? Dav made a level? This is going to be awesome.

Actually, this is my third level :viridian:

Yeah, secrets and A were pretty cool.
Title: Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
Post by: FIQ on October 17, 2012, 08:04:21 pm
Cool! But two of the trinkets was very hard to find...
Title: Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
Post by: Dav999 on October 17, 2012, 08:20:16 pm
Cool! But two of the trinkets was very hard to find...

Can you see trinkets on the map in 2.1?
Title: Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
Post by: Damn It AL to Hell on October 17, 2012, 10:31:09 pm
Nice! Haven't seen a level of this caliber since PJ left. Very good story, fun gameplay, tricky trinkets but that's the challenge.
I give it a solid 10/10.

:shiny: _ :shiny:

(If you don't know, the trinket face is my stamp of approval for levels that receive perfect score or above.)
Title: Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
Post by: FIQ on October 18, 2012, 08:41:00 am
Cool! But two of the trinkets was very hard to find...

Can you see trinkets on the map in 2.1?
No.
Title: Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
Post by: Dav999 on October 18, 2012, 07:39:22 pm
I fixed some small bugs, please update to version 1.1! :viridian:
Title: Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
Post by: ToasterApocalypse on October 18, 2012, 08:22:36 pm
OK. I actually downloaded it due to boredom and I needed something to do.

Good, but without direct mode I felt as though I was playing a normal level made by someone.
How in the fudge did you excecute internal commands without cutscenebars
do you know how much that would benefit my levels
Title: Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
Post by: Dav999 on October 18, 2012, 09:16:01 pm
OK. I actually downloaded it due to boredom and I needed something to do.

Good, but without direct mode I felt as though I was playing a normal level made by someone.
How in the fudge did you excecute internal commands without cutscenebars
do you know how much that would benefit my levels

If you look in the internal commands thread, you can see FIQ discovered something to make an internal command execute without the cutscene bars. I used that, and also something else: before he discovered that, I made rooms with a high floor and a low ceiling, because certain tilesets (lab and most outside colors) have completely black walls. I used that because then you can't see that the bars are on the screen all the time, because I made the cutscene bars stay in those rooms (that means, no endcutscene() and untilbars(), to make the next script start immediately, because you don't have to wait for the bars to appear anymore.

And about direct mode, I don't have access to direct mode yet, because I'm using 2.0. In the places where you see it, it's edited in a text editor (also the spikes in the gravitron) It means that, until 2.1 comes out for the Mac, my direct mode use is very limited.
Title: Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
Post by: avengah on October 18, 2012, 09:43:42 pm
Can you use a Windows emulator?
Title: Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
Post by: Dav999 on October 18, 2012, 10:28:07 pm
Then I first have to get the Windows version, because you can't run the Mac version in Windows... ::)

But I think I'm just gonna wait until the official Mac patch comes out, because to start a Windows emulator every time I want to edit a level... 2.0 works fine, too.
Title: Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
Post by: Rioshoa on October 21, 2012, 01:18:12 am
If you don`t mind, I`d like to do a video play though of it, get the opinion straight from the sources mouth first hand type of thing.
Title: Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
Post by: Dav999 on October 21, 2012, 07:15:02 am
If you don`t mind, I`d like to do a video play though of it, get the opinion straight from the sources mouth first hand type of thing.

Great! :viridian:
Title: Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
Post by: PyNe on October 21, 2012, 09:30:26 am
Pretty fun level, the interaction is really well-done, you are good at scripting. The level was overall really nice, the
Code: [Select]
only thing I didn't really like was the ending, maybe I just don't get it. :verdigris:
Title: Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
Post by: Dav999 on October 22, 2012, 08:10:54 pm
I will update this level with more direct mode tiles! :viridian:
Title: Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
Post by: Rioshoa on October 22, 2012, 08:47:40 pm
Well well, I meant to get this up Sunday night, but as it goes I was failing with rendering.  But here it is now: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7ulj2Pip0CY&feature=plcp

Hope you enjoy, and if so, feel free to check out the other stuff I got: http://www.youtube.com/Rioshoa
Title: Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
Post by: Dav999 on October 22, 2012, 10:07:16 pm
Wow, it was really fun to watch someone else play my level ;D

I did notice something weird when I watched your video: there's a trinket missing from the map! It's weird that it still shows it has a total of 10 trinkets, and I'll look into it. It was supposed to be in the clouds.

Anyway, great video!
Title: Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
Post by: Dav999 on October 23, 2012, 05:03:32 pm
Hmmm... The trinket does appear in my version. Strange. Why would a trinket disappear from the level after downloading the level which has the trinket?
Title: Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
Post by: Dav999 on October 24, 2012, 06:23:09 pm
I updated the level! I changed something with direct mode, so some areas look better now.
I forgot which other changes I made, and which areas were edited with direct mode, so maybe I left something out.
Title: Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
Post by: avengah on November 12, 2012, 10:14:08 am
I don't understand the first puzzle. I brute forced it... Also, if you press R in a puzzle room, you're left with cutscene bars. I did that because I thought I'd missed an explanation or something, but there really is no explanation for the first puzzle room.

Also, how does the game know whether you're using 2.0 or 2.1? Is it to do with customifflag or the # line?
Title: Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
Post by: Dav999 on November 12, 2012, 05:30:06 pm
I don't understand the first puzzle. I brute forced it... Also, if you press R in a puzzle room, you're left with cutscene bars. I did that because I thought I'd missed an explanation or something, but there really is no explanation for the first puzzle room.

Hover for hint.

Hover for answer.

Also, how does the game know whether you're using 2.0 or 2.1? Is it to do with customifflag or the # line?

Well, how to explain that... There are a few internal commands that get inserted automatically when you use say(x), including squeak(terminal). The game shouldn't execute this, because you don't want to hear two terminals at once, and you don't want to get weird dialogs. Therefore, you should make the game think these commands are part of a text box, which is why you need text(1,0,0,4). If you use squeak(off) in 2.1, squeak(terminal) is removed, so there are only 3 lines that actually have to be removed, instead of 4. So the first line of your own internal scripting is removed instead. If that line is flag(xx,on), that flag will never turn on. In 2.0, squeak(off) doesn't work, so the squeak(terminal) line is still there. That means the flag(xx,on) is also still there, so the flag is turned on in 2.0. That way, you can see if you're using 2.0 or 2.1.
Title: Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
Post by: Hilbert on November 13, 2012, 12:38:04 am
I don't understand the first puzzle. I brute forced it... Also, if you press R in a puzzle room, you're left with cutscene bars. I did that because I thought I'd missed an explanation or something, but there really is no explanation for the first puzzle room.

Hover for hint.

Hover for answer.

Also, how does the game know whether you're using 2.0 or 2.1? Is it to do with customifflag or the # line?

Well, how to explain that... There are a few internal commands that get inserted automatically when you use say(x), including squeak(terminal). The game shouldn't execute this, because you don't want to hear two terminals at once, and you don't want to get weird dialogs. Therefore, you should make the game think these commands are part of a text box, which is why you need text(1,0,0,4). If you use squeak(off) in 2.1, squeak(terminal) is removed, so there are only 3 lines that actually have to be removed, instead of 4. So the first line of your own internal scripting is removed instead. If that line is flag(xx,on), that flag will never turn on. In 2.0, squeak(off) doesn't work, so the squeak(terminal) line is still there. That means the flag(xx,on) is also still there, so the flag is turned on in 2.0. That way, you can see if you're using 2.0 or 2.1.
I don't understand the first puzzle. I brute forced it... Also, if you press R in a puzzle room, you're left with cutscene bars. I did that because I thought I'd missed an explanation or something, but there really is no explanation for the first puzzle room.

Hover for hint.

Hover for answer.

Also, how does the game know whether you're using 2.0 or 2.1? Is it to do with customifflag or the # line?

Well, how to explain that... There are a few internal commands that get inserted automatically when you use say(x), including squeak(terminal). The game shouldn't execute this, because you don't want to hear two terminals at once, and you don't want to get weird dialogs. Therefore, you should make the game think these commands are part of a text box, which is why you need text(1,0,0,4). If you use squeak(off) in 2.1, squeak(terminal) is removed, so there are only 3 lines that actually have to be removed, instead of 4. So the first line of your own internal scripting is removed instead. If that line is flag(xx,on), that flag will never turn on. In 2.0, squeak(off) doesn't work, so the squeak(terminal) line is still there. That means the flag(xx,on) is also still there, so the flag is turned on in 2.0. That way, you can see if you're using 2.0 or 2.1.
A full stop is a period, right?
Title: Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
Post by: Dav999 on November 13, 2012, 06:31:42 am
Yes. But you didn't have to quote it twice ???
Title: Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
Post by: Hilbert on November 13, 2012, 12:49:04 pm
 :o wait, what? I did not quote that twice...
Title: Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
Post by: Dav999 on November 13, 2012, 01:13:04 pm
Look at your post. Apparently, something happened which made two quotes appear. ???
Title: Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
Post by: Hilbert on November 13, 2012, 08:52:15 pm
Probably an accident. :)
Title: Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
Post by: Hilbert on November 16, 2012, 12:28:25 pm
**** this Gravitron. I got Error #6
Title: Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
Post by: ToasterApocalypse on November 16, 2012, 01:59:44 pm
**** this Gravitron. I got Error #6

I did too! Flip in the room under the Anti-Wrappitron and you get error #6.
Title: Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
Post by: Dav999 on November 16, 2012, 03:36:02 pm
Aw man, I thought I had fixed that. :victoria: Was it the gravitron fling?
Title: Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
Post by: ToasterApocalypse on November 16, 2012, 03:39:30 pm
Aw man, I thought I had fixed that. :victoria: Was it the gravitron fling?

For me, no. I half-wrapped through the warpline and then flipped.
Title: Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
Post by: Dav999 on November 16, 2012, 04:08:10 pm
Aw man, I thought I had fixed that. :victoria: Was it the gravitron fling?

For me, no. I half-wrapped through the warpline and then flipped.

Ah, but that's a bug in VVVVVV. I can reproduce that. You can just press R if you flip there and end up in the wall.
Title: Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
Post by: Hilbert on November 16, 2012, 05:25:55 pm
It was the fling. :(
Title: Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
Post by: blue626 on November 16, 2012, 05:44:24 pm
It was the fling. :(

Are you talking about :viridian: moving automatically and changing screens (unless the room wraps in all sides) and becomes hidden? That didn't happen to me, yet that happened in 2 other levels (the 2nd being WWW). When it happened the 1st time, in Dim. Piplup, I thought it was because there was a warptoken in the room. However, I realized I was wrong later as there wasn't in WWW. You can press R, yet you may end up still being hidden (like in WWW) and you may have to close the game. In Piplup, waht happened is that I didn't press anything until I reached a certain room wrapping horizontally, where :viridian: was still hidden and I couldn't press anything (each of the arrow keys, Space, Enter and R). I had to close the game. Just remember to make a quicksave before entering a Gravitron in a custom level. Strange glitch! It never happens in the main game (or when you access Int. 2 as a play mode) and it happens sometimes in player levels. I don't think it would be fixed. After all, it's internal scripting, its access in player levels being a glitch.
EDIT: I'm off-topic, aren't I? I felt like it should have been said here.
Title: Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
Post by: ToasterApocalypse on November 17, 2012, 01:03:36 pm
Well, anyway.

This is not the BEST level Dav has made. Dimension of Secrets has that. The open areas are cool, the trinkets are very well hidden, and the scripting is cool too. I can only do the gray trophies (which I will use in (no i'm not spoiling this). I like this, but Secrets was better.

first level > third
Title: Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
Post by: avengah on November 17, 2012, 06:30:39 pm
Did you use the fabled destroy(platforms) in this level? For the $1 room? (Ah, you use a workaround, I see.)

Also, there's a problem with the map commands. I was looking at the map in the editor and see there are patches where it's on and off, but sometimes you can end up out of that area completely with the map permanently off. If you only want it patchy in that area, you should have map(on) commands at the borders of that area, not in the area but in the rooms outside the area so you can't miss them. Don't forget teleport destinations too, if there are any.

There are cutscene bar problems if you press R in one of the puzzle rooms.

Finally, the coin didn't appear when I played through the level. Why? And having done a little test in the editor, what happens if you collect it? It makes that noise, but is that it?

EDIT: AH! Got it! Collecting the coin causes the game to think a trinket has been collected; specifically the one that involves falling upwards among spikes in the mapless area. A little experimentation has helped me solve the problem. Set one of the optional arguments. I set them both to 11 and it seems to have fixed the problem. I'm just going to try one more thing. I think the game internally numbers the ten trinkets from 0 to 9, so setting the coin to 10 should mean it's treated differently. And so, as it is now, if you collect that trinket first, the coin won't appear.

...yeah, that's it. In the .vvvvvv file, in the entity section, trinkets are the entities with t="9". The order they are numbered internally is the order in which they appear in this file; the numbering starts at 0. I just tested by setting it to 1, and the second trinket in the file vanished. So it's the first optional argument - set it to 10 (the 11th trinket), and since there is no 11th trinket, it won't either fail to appear if you collect a particular trinket, or remove a trinket from the level if you collect the coin first. So that's the solution.

Change both occurrences of createentity(75,85,8,0,0) to createentity(75,85,8,10,0) and the problem is solved. The scripts are coin and makecoin.
Title: Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
Post by: Dav999 on November 18, 2012, 06:44:15 pm
Ah, that explains why the coin sometimes doesn't appear, and it also explains this:

I did notice something weird when I watched your video: there's a trinket missing from the map! It's weird that it still shows it has a total of 10 trinkets, and I'll look into it. It was supposed to be in the clouds.

I will update the level in less than an hour! :viridian:

EDIT: I updated the level! :viridian:
Title: Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
Post by: avengah on November 19, 2012, 12:38:45 pm
There's a bit in blueagain3 that says something about Red following you whether you're on the floor or not. Why doesn't that appear in the game?

EDIT: Ah, I see. It stops you flipping, doesn't it. I wonder if you can find the script in the main game that runs during Intermission 1, to see how it's actually done?

EDIT 2: I've done a little something with it. I'm not very good with internal scripting so it can probably be improved, but I've enabled that final text box in blueagain3, and created a script called getrid that gets rid of it. Please have a look at it and tell me what you think, as I'm new to this. Does it do what you need? Flipping works again once you're in the next room. (You can quickly test it by putting a checkpoint in the room where you rescue Red, in the top left corner - the room after the puzzle rooms.)
Title: Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
Post by: Dav999 on November 19, 2012, 03:35:30 pm
There's a bit in blueagain3 that says something about Red following you whether you're on the floor or not. Why doesn't that appear in the game?

EDIT: Ah, I see. It stops you flipping, doesn't it. I wonder if you can find the script in the main game that runs during Intermission 1, to see how it's actually done?

EDIT 2: I've done a little something with it. I'm not very good with internal scripting so it can probably be improved, but I've enabled that final text box in blueagain3, and created a script called getrid that gets rid of it. Please have a look at it and tell me what you think, as I'm new to this. Does it do what you need? Flipping works again once you're in the next room. (You can quickly test it by putting a checkpoint in the room where you rescue Red, in the top left corner - the room after the puzzle rooms.)

Ah, that was just a beta element I forgot to take out. The problem is that you should always be able to flip, also when there's a text box. In the main game, this is done with hardcoded gamestates, which you can access with internal scripting, but the text will be glitched if you do it in a custom level (I thought it says 'When you're standing on the stop and wait for you.', because the game doesn't know which crewmate was rescued last)

Also, did you notice that the name of that script is actually blueagain3 and not redagain3? That is because :vermillion: is the only character who can follow you in different rooms. I first planned on using vermillion and changing his color to blue upon entering the next rooms, but you still saw the red color. So, I decided to use :vermillion: instead.
Title: Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
Post by: ToasterApocalypse on November 19, 2012, 03:39:38 pm
There's a bit in blueagain3 that says something about Red following you whether you're on the floor or not. Why doesn't that appear in the game?

EDIT: Ah, I see. It stops you flipping, doesn't it. I wonder if you can find the script in the main game that runs during Intermission 1, to see how it's actually done?

EDIT 2: I've done a little something with it. I'm not very good with internal scripting so it can probably be improved, but I've enabled that final text box in blueagain3, and created a script called getrid that gets rid of it. Please have a look at it and tell me what you think, as I'm new to this. Does it do what you need? Flipping works again once you're in the next room. (You can quickly test it by putting a checkpoint in the room where you rescue Red, in the top left corner - the room after the puzzle rooms.)

Ah, that was just a beta element I forgot to take out. The problem is that you should always be able to flip, also when there's a text box. In the main game, this is done with hardcoded gamestates, which you can access with internal scripting, but the text will be glitched if you do it in a custom level (I thought it says 'When you're standing on the stop and wait for you.', because the game doesn't know which crewmate was rescued last)

Also, did you notice that the name of that script is actually blueagain3 and not redagain3? That is because :vermillion: is the only character who can follow you in different rooms. I first planned on using vermillion and changing his color to blue upon entering the next rooms, but you still saw the red color. So, I decided to use :vermillion: instead.

So you replaced  :victoria: with  :vermillion: for the intermission place?
Like I did, but I replaced  :violet:
Title: Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
Post by: Dav999 on November 19, 2012, 03:44:50 pm
There's a bit in blueagain3 that says something about Red following you whether you're on the floor or not. Why doesn't that appear in the game?

EDIT: Ah, I see. It stops you flipping, doesn't it. I wonder if you can find the script in the main game that runs during Intermission 1, to see how it's actually done?

EDIT 2: I've done a little something with it. I'm not very good with internal scripting so it can probably be improved, but I've enabled that final text box in blueagain3, and created a script called getrid that gets rid of it. Please have a look at it and tell me what you think, as I'm new to this. Does it do what you need? Flipping works again once you're in the next room. (You can quickly test it by putting a checkpoint in the room where you rescue Red, in the top left corner - the room after the puzzle rooms.)

Ah, that was just a beta element I forgot to take out. The problem is that you should always be able to flip, also when there's a text box. In the main game, this is done with hardcoded gamestates, which you can access with internal scripting, but the text will be glitched if you do it in a custom level (I thought it says 'When you're standing on the stop and wait for you.', because the game doesn't know which crewmate was rescued last)

Also, did you notice that the name of that script is actually blueagain3 and not redagain3? That is because :vermillion: is the only character who can follow you in different rooms. I first planned on using vermillion and changing his color to blue upon entering the next rooms, but you still saw the red color. So, I decided to use :vermillion: instead.

So you replaced  :victoria: with  :vermillion: for the intermission place?
Like I did, but I replaced  :violet:

Yes. Maybe it can be done fast enough with the A)Say method, another reason against changing the color every time you enter the room was because of the terminal/squeak sound. A)Say doesn't do that. Also, I thought say(-1) stopped you every time you enter a room.
Title: Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
Post by: avengah on November 19, 2012, 04:19:46 pm
Are you sure Vermilion is the only character who can follow you between rooms? Have you tried using optional arguments? Try numbers, colours, anything really.
Title: Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
Post by: ToasterApocalypse on November 19, 2012, 04:20:53 pm
Are you sure Vermilion is the only character who can follow you between rooms? Have you tried using optional arguments? Try numbers, colours, anything really.

I experimented with companion(X)
I got Vermillion and Verdigris.

I went with Vermillion because he was where I wanted him to be. Verdigris just clipped into a wall.
Title: Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
Post by: avengah on November 19, 2012, 04:27:52 pm
Also, if a companion dies, do you die too, like in the main game? Is that why there are no hazards in the companion's area, because it would cause problems in custom levels?

EDIT: The walls don't line up properly in a pair of rooms near the start. "There is..." and the room right of it. Also, there's still the issue of getting permanently stuck sans map if you leave the area where it's intermittent and it happens to be off at the time. As I may have said before, map(on) commands at the borders of that area would be sensible to avoid that (not in the area, just outside the area so you can't accidentally trigger an on script on the border, then an off script before leaving).
Title: Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
Post by: Dav999 on November 19, 2012, 06:40:39 pm
Also, if a companion dies, do you die too, like in the main game?

Companions can't die! That's why intermission levels with companions will always be kinda dull, there's no way you can see where a companion is, also because :viridian:'s position doesn't exactly indicate where a companion is, and they can't activate scripts.
Title: Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
Post by: avengah on November 19, 2012, 06:49:17 pm
The main game even has a companion activate a checkpoint. I take it that won't happen in custom levels either? Do companions walk over spikes or through them?
Title: Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
Post by: ToasterApocalypse on November 19, 2012, 07:02:34 pm
The main game even has a companion activate a checkpoint. I take it that won't happen in custom levels either? Do companions walk over spikes or through them?

Probably through.
Title: Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
Post by: FIQ on November 20, 2012, 10:35:13 pm
Are you sure that intermission 1 crewmates are hardcoded? You should be able to create them with createentity().
Title: Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
Post by: avengah on November 21, 2012, 01:39:39 am
I've had an idea. Since createentity is a conditional command, are there any entities you can create that act as either moving or still obstacles, either deadly or simply obstructions? You see, you can create a coin with an entity ID of whatever, and create an obstacle with the same entity ID. It has to be in a different room - I tried creating two coins with the same ID in one room, and collecting the first does not make the second disappear. So, you could collect a coin in one room, and an obstacle in another room would fail to spawn. Am I on to something?

Alternatively, it could be the same room but you'd have to leave and re-enter. This is just a general query; not specifically for this level but the coin thing has given me the idea.