Author Topic: Level: Dimension Dimension  (Read 10894 times)

PyNe

  • Crewmate
  • **
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
« Reply #15 on: October 21, 2012, 09:30:26 am »
Pretty fun level, the interaction is really well-done, you are good at scripting. The level was overall really nice, the
Code: [Select]
only thing I didn't really like was the ending, maybe I just don't get it. :verdigris:

Dav999

  • Global Moderator
  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 2185
    • View Profile
    • The Open Level Project
Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
« Reply #16 on: October 22, 2012, 08:10:54 pm »
I will update this level with more direct mode tiles! :viridian:

Rioshoa

  • Crewmate
  • **
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
« Reply #17 on: October 22, 2012, 08:47:40 pm »
Well well, I meant to get this up Sunday night, but as it goes I was failing with rendering.  But here it is now: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7ulj2Pip0CY&feature=plcp

Hope you enjoy, and if so, feel free to check out the other stuff I got: http://www.youtube.com/Rioshoa

Dav999

  • Global Moderator
  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 2185
    • View Profile
    • The Open Level Project
Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
« Reply #18 on: October 22, 2012, 10:07:16 pm »
Wow, it was really fun to watch someone else play my level ;D

I did notice something weird when I watched your video: there's a trinket missing from the map! It's weird that it still shows it has a total of 10 trinkets, and I'll look into it. It was supposed to be in the clouds.

Anyway, great video!

Dav999

  • Global Moderator
  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 2185
    • View Profile
    • The Open Level Project
Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
« Reply #19 on: October 23, 2012, 05:03:32 pm »
Hmmm... The trinket does appear in my version. Strange. Why would a trinket disappear from the level after downloading the level which has the trinket?

Dav999

  • Global Moderator
  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 2185
    • View Profile
    • The Open Level Project
Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
« Reply #20 on: October 24, 2012, 06:23:09 pm »
I updated the level! I changed something with direct mode, so some areas look better now.
I forgot which other changes I made, and which areas were edited with direct mode, so maybe I left something out.

avengah

  • Professor
  • ****
  • Posts: 120
    • View Profile
Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
« Reply #21 on: November 12, 2012, 10:14:08 am »
I don't understand the first puzzle. I brute forced it... Also, if you press R in a puzzle room, you're left with cutscene bars. I did that because I thought I'd missed an explanation or something, but there really is no explanation for the first puzzle room.

Also, how does the game know whether you're using 2.0 or 2.1? Is it to do with customifflag or the # line?
« Last Edit: November 12, 2012, 10:52:54 am by avengah »

Dav999

  • Global Moderator
  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 2185
    • View Profile
    • The Open Level Project
Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
« Reply #22 on: November 12, 2012, 05:30:06 pm »
I don't understand the first puzzle. I brute forced it... Also, if you press R in a puzzle room, you're left with cutscene bars. I did that because I thought I'd missed an explanation or something, but there really is no explanation for the first puzzle room.

Hover for hint.

Hover for answer.

Also, how does the game know whether you're using 2.0 or 2.1? Is it to do with customifflag or the # line?

Well, how to explain that... There are a few internal commands that get inserted automatically when you use say(x), including squeak(terminal). The game shouldn't execute this, because you don't want to hear two terminals at once, and you don't want to get weird dialogs. Therefore, you should make the game think these commands are part of a text box, which is why you need text(1,0,0,4). If you use squeak(off) in 2.1, squeak(terminal) is removed, so there are only 3 lines that actually have to be removed, instead of 4. So the first line of your own internal scripting is removed instead. If that line is flag(xx,on), that flag will never turn on. In 2.0, squeak(off) doesn't work, so the squeak(terminal) line is still there. That means the flag(xx,on) is also still there, so the flag is turned on in 2.0. That way, you can see if you're using 2.0 or 2.1.

Hilbert

  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 574
  • Yup. This is my name. Not Black, Hilbert.
    • View Profile
Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
« Reply #23 on: November 13, 2012, 12:38:04 am »
I don't understand the first puzzle. I brute forced it... Also, if you press R in a puzzle room, you're left with cutscene bars. I did that because I thought I'd missed an explanation or something, but there really is no explanation for the first puzzle room.

Hover for hint.

Hover for answer.

Also, how does the game know whether you're using 2.0 or 2.1? Is it to do with customifflag or the # line?

Well, how to explain that... There are a few internal commands that get inserted automatically when you use say(x), including squeak(terminal). The game shouldn't execute this, because you don't want to hear two terminals at once, and you don't want to get weird dialogs. Therefore, you should make the game think these commands are part of a text box, which is why you need text(1,0,0,4). If you use squeak(off) in 2.1, squeak(terminal) is removed, so there are only 3 lines that actually have to be removed, instead of 4. So the first line of your own internal scripting is removed instead. If that line is flag(xx,on), that flag will never turn on. In 2.0, squeak(off) doesn't work, so the squeak(terminal) line is still there. That means the flag(xx,on) is also still there, so the flag is turned on in 2.0. That way, you can see if you're using 2.0 or 2.1.
I don't understand the first puzzle. I brute forced it... Also, if you press R in a puzzle room, you're left with cutscene bars. I did that because I thought I'd missed an explanation or something, but there really is no explanation for the first puzzle room.

Hover for hint.

Hover for answer.

Also, how does the game know whether you're using 2.0 or 2.1? Is it to do with customifflag or the # line?

Well, how to explain that... There are a few internal commands that get inserted automatically when you use say(x), including squeak(terminal). The game shouldn't execute this, because you don't want to hear two terminals at once, and you don't want to get weird dialogs. Therefore, you should make the game think these commands are part of a text box, which is why you need text(1,0,0,4). If you use squeak(off) in 2.1, squeak(terminal) is removed, so there are only 3 lines that actually have to be removed, instead of 4. So the first line of your own internal scripting is removed instead. If that line is flag(xx,on), that flag will never turn on. In 2.0, squeak(off) doesn't work, so the squeak(terminal) line is still there. That means the flag(xx,on) is also still there, so the flag is turned on in 2.0. That way, you can see if you're using 2.0 or 2.1.
A full stop is a period, right?

Dav999

  • Global Moderator
  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 2185
    • View Profile
    • The Open Level Project
Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
« Reply #24 on: November 13, 2012, 06:31:42 am »
Yes. But you didn't have to quote it twice ???

Hilbert

  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 574
  • Yup. This is my name. Not Black, Hilbert.
    • View Profile
Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
« Reply #25 on: November 13, 2012, 12:49:04 pm »
 :o wait, what? I did not quote that twice...

Dav999

  • Global Moderator
  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 2185
    • View Profile
    • The Open Level Project
Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
« Reply #26 on: November 13, 2012, 01:13:04 pm »
Look at your post. Apparently, something happened which made two quotes appear. ???

Hilbert

  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 574
  • Yup. This is my name. Not Black, Hilbert.
    • View Profile
Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
« Reply #27 on: November 13, 2012, 08:52:15 pm »
Probably an accident. :)

Hilbert

  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 574
  • Yup. This is my name. Not Black, Hilbert.
    • View Profile
Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
« Reply #28 on: November 16, 2012, 12:28:25 pm »
**** this Gravitron. I got Error #6

ToasterApocalypse

  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 1010
  • le lenny face
    • View Profile
Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
« Reply #29 on: November 16, 2012, 01:59:44 pm »
**** this Gravitron. I got Error #6

I did too! Flip in the room under the Anti-Wrappitron and you get error #6.