Author Topic: Level: Dimension Dimension  (Read 11240 times)

Dav999

  • Global Moderator
  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 2187
    • View Profile
    • The Open Level Project
Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
« Reply #30 on: November 16, 2012, 03:36:02 pm »
Aw man, I thought I had fixed that. :victoria: Was it the gravitron fling?

ToasterApocalypse

  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 1010
  • le lenny face
    • View Profile
Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
« Reply #31 on: November 16, 2012, 03:39:30 pm »
Aw man, I thought I had fixed that. :victoria: Was it the gravitron fling?

For me, no. I half-wrapped through the warpline and then flipped.

Dav999

  • Global Moderator
  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 2187
    • View Profile
    • The Open Level Project
Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
« Reply #32 on: November 16, 2012, 04:08:10 pm »
Aw man, I thought I had fixed that. :victoria: Was it the gravitron fling?

For me, no. I half-wrapped through the warpline and then flipped.

Ah, but that's a bug in VVVVVV. I can reproduce that. You can just press R if you flip there and end up in the wall.

Hilbert

  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 574
  • Yup. This is my name. Not Black, Hilbert.
    • View Profile
Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
« Reply #33 on: November 16, 2012, 05:25:55 pm »
It was the fling. :(

blue626

  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 672
  • I changed my avatar!
    • View Profile
Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
« Reply #34 on: November 16, 2012, 05:44:24 pm »
It was the fling. :(

Are you talking about :viridian: moving automatically and changing screens (unless the room wraps in all sides) and becomes hidden? That didn't happen to me, yet that happened in 2 other levels (the 2nd being WWW). When it happened the 1st time, in Dim. Piplup, I thought it was because there was a warptoken in the room. However, I realized I was wrong later as there wasn't in WWW. You can press R, yet you may end up still being hidden (like in WWW) and you may have to close the game. In Piplup, waht happened is that I didn't press anything until I reached a certain room wrapping horizontally, where :viridian: was still hidden and I couldn't press anything (each of the arrow keys, Space, Enter and R). I had to close the game. Just remember to make a quicksave before entering a Gravitron in a custom level. Strange glitch! It never happens in the main game (or when you access Int. 2 as a play mode) and it happens sometimes in player levels. I don't think it would be fixed. After all, it's internal scripting, its access in player levels being a glitch.
EDIT: I'm off-topic, aren't I? I felt like it should have been said here.
« Last Edit: November 16, 2012, 05:49:09 pm by blue626 »

ToasterApocalypse

  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 1010
  • le lenny face
    • View Profile
Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
« Reply #35 on: November 17, 2012, 01:03:36 pm »
Well, anyway.

This is not the BEST level Dav has made. Dimension of Secrets has that. The open areas are cool, the trinkets are very well hidden, and the scripting is cool too. I can only do the gray trophies (which I will use in (no i'm not spoiling this). I like this, but Secrets was better.

first level > third

avengah

  • Professor
  • ****
  • Posts: 120
    • View Profile
Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
« Reply #36 on: November 17, 2012, 06:30:39 pm »
Did you use the fabled destroy(platforms) in this level? For the $1 room? (Ah, you use a workaround, I see.)

Also, there's a problem with the map commands. I was looking at the map in the editor and see there are patches where it's on and off, but sometimes you can end up out of that area completely with the map permanently off. If you only want it patchy in that area, you should have map(on) commands at the borders of that area, not in the area but in the rooms outside the area so you can't miss them. Don't forget teleport destinations too, if there are any.

There are cutscene bar problems if you press R in one of the puzzle rooms.

Finally, the coin didn't appear when I played through the level. Why? And having done a little test in the editor, what happens if you collect it? It makes that noise, but is that it?

EDIT: AH! Got it! Collecting the coin causes the game to think a trinket has been collected; specifically the one that involves falling upwards among spikes in the mapless area. A little experimentation has helped me solve the problem. Set one of the optional arguments. I set them both to 11 and it seems to have fixed the problem. I'm just going to try one more thing. I think the game internally numbers the ten trinkets from 0 to 9, so setting the coin to 10 should mean it's treated differently. And so, as it is now, if you collect that trinket first, the coin won't appear.

...yeah, that's it. In the .vvvvvv file, in the entity section, trinkets are the entities with t="9". The order they are numbered internally is the order in which they appear in this file; the numbering starts at 0. I just tested by setting it to 1, and the second trinket in the file vanished. So it's the first optional argument - set it to 10 (the 11th trinket), and since there is no 11th trinket, it won't either fail to appear if you collect a particular trinket, or remove a trinket from the level if you collect the coin first. So that's the solution.

Change both occurrences of createentity(75,85,8,0,0) to createentity(75,85,8,10,0) and the problem is solved. The scripts are coin and makecoin.
« Last Edit: November 17, 2012, 08:29:08 pm by avengah »

Dav999

  • Global Moderator
  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 2187
    • View Profile
    • The Open Level Project
Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
« Reply #37 on: November 18, 2012, 06:44:15 pm »
Ah, that explains why the coin sometimes doesn't appear, and it also explains this:

I did notice something weird when I watched your video: there's a trinket missing from the map! It's weird that it still shows it has a total of 10 trinkets, and I'll look into it. It was supposed to be in the clouds.

I will update the level in less than an hour! :viridian:

EDIT: I updated the level! :viridian:
« Last Edit: November 18, 2012, 07:02:37 pm by Dav999 »

avengah

  • Professor
  • ****
  • Posts: 120
    • View Profile
Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
« Reply #38 on: November 19, 2012, 12:38:45 pm »
There's a bit in blueagain3 that says something about Red following you whether you're on the floor or not. Why doesn't that appear in the game?

EDIT: Ah, I see. It stops you flipping, doesn't it. I wonder if you can find the script in the main game that runs during Intermission 1, to see how it's actually done?

EDIT 2: I've done a little something with it. I'm not very good with internal scripting so it can probably be improved, but I've enabled that final text box in blueagain3, and created a script called getrid that gets rid of it. Please have a look at it and tell me what you think, as I'm new to this. Does it do what you need? Flipping works again once you're in the next room. (You can quickly test it by putting a checkpoint in the room where you rescue Red, in the top left corner - the room after the puzzle rooms.)
« Last Edit: November 19, 2012, 02:39:13 pm by avengah »

Dav999

  • Global Moderator
  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 2187
    • View Profile
    • The Open Level Project
Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
« Reply #39 on: November 19, 2012, 03:35:30 pm »
There's a bit in blueagain3 that says something about Red following you whether you're on the floor or not. Why doesn't that appear in the game?

EDIT: Ah, I see. It stops you flipping, doesn't it. I wonder if you can find the script in the main game that runs during Intermission 1, to see how it's actually done?

EDIT 2: I've done a little something with it. I'm not very good with internal scripting so it can probably be improved, but I've enabled that final text box in blueagain3, and created a script called getrid that gets rid of it. Please have a look at it and tell me what you think, as I'm new to this. Does it do what you need? Flipping works again once you're in the next room. (You can quickly test it by putting a checkpoint in the room where you rescue Red, in the top left corner - the room after the puzzle rooms.)

Ah, that was just a beta element I forgot to take out. The problem is that you should always be able to flip, also when there's a text box. In the main game, this is done with hardcoded gamestates, which you can access with internal scripting, but the text will be glitched if you do it in a custom level (I thought it says 'When you're standing on the stop and wait for you.', because the game doesn't know which crewmate was rescued last)

Also, did you notice that the name of that script is actually blueagain3 and not redagain3? That is because :vermillion: is the only character who can follow you in different rooms. I first planned on using vermillion and changing his color to blue upon entering the next rooms, but you still saw the red color. So, I decided to use :vermillion: instead.

ToasterApocalypse

  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 1010
  • le lenny face
    • View Profile
Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
« Reply #40 on: November 19, 2012, 03:39:38 pm »
There's a bit in blueagain3 that says something about Red following you whether you're on the floor or not. Why doesn't that appear in the game?

EDIT: Ah, I see. It stops you flipping, doesn't it. I wonder if you can find the script in the main game that runs during Intermission 1, to see how it's actually done?

EDIT 2: I've done a little something with it. I'm not very good with internal scripting so it can probably be improved, but I've enabled that final text box in blueagain3, and created a script called getrid that gets rid of it. Please have a look at it and tell me what you think, as I'm new to this. Does it do what you need? Flipping works again once you're in the next room. (You can quickly test it by putting a checkpoint in the room where you rescue Red, in the top left corner - the room after the puzzle rooms.)

Ah, that was just a beta element I forgot to take out. The problem is that you should always be able to flip, also when there's a text box. In the main game, this is done with hardcoded gamestates, which you can access with internal scripting, but the text will be glitched if you do it in a custom level (I thought it says 'When you're standing on the stop and wait for you.', because the game doesn't know which crewmate was rescued last)

Also, did you notice that the name of that script is actually blueagain3 and not redagain3? That is because :vermillion: is the only character who can follow you in different rooms. I first planned on using vermillion and changing his color to blue upon entering the next rooms, but you still saw the red color. So, I decided to use :vermillion: instead.

So you replaced  :victoria: with  :vermillion: for the intermission place?
Like I did, but I replaced  :violet:

Dav999

  • Global Moderator
  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 2187
    • View Profile
    • The Open Level Project
Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
« Reply #41 on: November 19, 2012, 03:44:50 pm »
There's a bit in blueagain3 that says something about Red following you whether you're on the floor or not. Why doesn't that appear in the game?

EDIT: Ah, I see. It stops you flipping, doesn't it. I wonder if you can find the script in the main game that runs during Intermission 1, to see how it's actually done?

EDIT 2: I've done a little something with it. I'm not very good with internal scripting so it can probably be improved, but I've enabled that final text box in blueagain3, and created a script called getrid that gets rid of it. Please have a look at it and tell me what you think, as I'm new to this. Does it do what you need? Flipping works again once you're in the next room. (You can quickly test it by putting a checkpoint in the room where you rescue Red, in the top left corner - the room after the puzzle rooms.)

Ah, that was just a beta element I forgot to take out. The problem is that you should always be able to flip, also when there's a text box. In the main game, this is done with hardcoded gamestates, which you can access with internal scripting, but the text will be glitched if you do it in a custom level (I thought it says 'When you're standing on the stop and wait for you.', because the game doesn't know which crewmate was rescued last)

Also, did you notice that the name of that script is actually blueagain3 and not redagain3? That is because :vermillion: is the only character who can follow you in different rooms. I first planned on using vermillion and changing his color to blue upon entering the next rooms, but you still saw the red color. So, I decided to use :vermillion: instead.

So you replaced  :victoria: with  :vermillion: for the intermission place?
Like I did, but I replaced  :violet:

Yes. Maybe it can be done fast enough with the A)Say method, another reason against changing the color every time you enter the room was because of the terminal/squeak sound. A)Say doesn't do that. Also, I thought say(-1) stopped you every time you enter a room.

avengah

  • Professor
  • ****
  • Posts: 120
    • View Profile
Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
« Reply #42 on: November 19, 2012, 04:19:46 pm »
Are you sure Vermilion is the only character who can follow you between rooms? Have you tried using optional arguments? Try numbers, colours, anything really.

ToasterApocalypse

  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 1010
  • le lenny face
    • View Profile
Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
« Reply #43 on: November 19, 2012, 04:20:53 pm »
Are you sure Vermilion is the only character who can follow you between rooms? Have you tried using optional arguments? Try numbers, colours, anything really.

I experimented with companion(X)
I got Vermillion and Verdigris.

I went with Vermillion because he was where I wanted him to be. Verdigris just clipped into a wall.

avengah

  • Professor
  • ****
  • Posts: 120
    • View Profile
Re: Level: Dimension Dimension
« Reply #44 on: November 19, 2012, 04:27:52 pm »
Also, if a companion dies, do you die too, like in the main game? Is that why there are no hazards in the companion's area, because it would cause problems in custom levels?

EDIT: The walls don't line up properly in a pair of rooms near the start. "There is..." and the room right of it. Also, there's still the issue of getting permanently stuck sans map if you leave the area where it's intermittent and it happens to be off at the time. As I may have said before, map(on) commands at the borders of that area would be sensible to avoid that (not in the area, just outside the area so you can't accidentally trigger an on script on the border, then an off script before leaving).
« Last Edit: November 19, 2012, 04:33:06 pm by avengah »