Author Topic: Bug Reports Go Here  (Read 34502 times)

DeceasedCrab

  • Crewmate
  • **
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Bug Reports Go Here
« on: January 09, 2010, 02:47:29 PM »
In case you haven't seen it, Terry's released a patch!  Hopefully this will fix all your problems.  If you've installed the patch and still are finding bugs, go ahead and report them in the patch's thread.  Happy V-ing!
--StephenM3


Have a bug to report? Reply here and tell Terry about it. Try to keep spoilers to a minimum. Let's try not to have a whole new topic for every bug we find on release, let's just consolidate them here.
« Last Edit: February 02, 2010, 12:18:13 PM by StephenM3 »

DeceasedCrab

  • Crewmate
  • **
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports Go Here
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2010, 05:50:08 PM »
Bugs happen. We know this. Hopefully, this thread won't have much activity. But it's good to prepare for eventualities, and have a centralized place to put them so that they can be addressed and fixed.
« Last Edit: January 11, 2010, 01:51:32 PM by DeceasedCrab »

Terry

  • Administrator
  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 606
    • View Profile
    • distractionware
Re: Bug Reports Go Here
« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2010, 05:50:38 PM »
Very good idea though :) Stickyied!

madamluna

  • Crewmate
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports Go Here
« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2010, 09:20:17 PM »
uh oh :/ I got to the Gravitron through normal play at the second intermission, and I paused the game. it asked me if I wanted to go back to the "secret laboratory," and I spaced out and pressed yes. It warped me to "outer space" instead (just some black and grey void) where I can't get out. I can quit back out to the beginning of the intermission level, but I lost my progress on the Gravitron.

StephenM3

  • Professor
  • ****
  • Posts: 122
    • View Profile
    • Cloud Cover (my games)
Re: Bug Reports Go Here
« Reply #4 on: January 10, 2010, 09:23:05 PM »
Not sure how much of a "bug" this is, but the Mac app is a little wonky.  I'd recommend disabling resizing the window-- it screws up the pixels in a major way, and I think it's also responsible for the ugly border along the right side and bottom.  Also, just as a side question, how is full screen meant to look?

I've just started playing, so its all familiar from the beta so far, but I'm so incredibly exited!

allen

  • Doctor
  • ***
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports Go Here
« Reply #5 on: January 10, 2010, 09:45:31 PM »
I'm on windows and this is what full screen looks like to me:

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/2773617/vvvvvv.png

joniho

  • Doctor
  • ***
  • Posts: 40
  • やらないか?
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports Go Here
« Reply #6 on: January 10, 2010, 10:03:46 PM »
I unlocked Time Trials the regular way, but it isn't grayed out under Unlock Play Modes. Not sure if this is intended or a bug.

Scout

  • Crewmate
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports Go Here
« Reply #7 on: January 10, 2010, 10:13:32 PM »
Definitely a bug: when I try to return to the ship in the middle of The Tower, it doesn't work, the player dies, and then loses all control including the menu. The only way out is to close the program.

(Sorry, Terry. Bug reports on day one suck.)

ZekeSulastin

  • Crewmate
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports Go Here
« Reply #8 on: January 10, 2010, 11:07:53 PM »
I'm on windows and this is what full screen looks like to me:

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/2773617/vvvvvv.png

That's pretty much anti-aliasing/tv filter/etc - you often see that sort of thing in emulators for consoles like the SNES and on actual hardware of the era which V6 stylistically mimics.  That's pretty close to what a Commodore 64 would look like if it was connected to a TV ...

I have a typo report - "If wonder what we'll find?" :)
« Last Edit: January 11, 2010, 01:33:43 AM by ZekeSulastin »

Kyle

  • Crewmate
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • twitter.com/kapkyle
Re: Bug Reports Go Here
« Reply #9 on: January 11, 2010, 06:33:21 AM »
Definitely a bug: when I try to return to the ship in the middle of The Tower, it doesn't work, the player dies, and then loses all control including the menu. The only way out is to close the program.

(Sorry, Terry. Bug reports on day one suck.)
Same just happened to me.

I'm on windows and this is what full screen looks like to me:

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/2773617/vvvvvv.png
If you want the game to look sharper, switch to windowed mode and then click maximize. ( '.')b

Terry

  • Administrator
  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 606
    • View Profile
    • distractionware
Re: Bug Reports Go Here
« Reply #10 on: January 11, 2010, 06:47:20 AM »
Thanks for the reports - the gravitron one is kinda hilarious :)

I think I'm going to add some buttons for the player to change the flash settings for screen smoothing and hardware acceleration manually in the options in the first patch (hopefully today or tomorrow) - it only really works if *both* are enabled, otherwise there's kind of a blurry effect.

techknight

  • Crewmate
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports Go Here
« Reply #11 on: January 11, 2010, 09:06:30 AM »
I manually saved my game at Doing Things The Hard Way and quit (was getting a little too frustrated!). I restarted the game just now and not only did it put me at my last teleporter, it also wiped out a big chunk of my stats.. I've only got 24 minutes and ~100 deaths now.

StephenM3

  • Professor
  • ****
  • Posts: 122
    • View Profile
    • Cloud Cover (my games)
Re: Bug Reports Go Here
« Reply #12 on: January 11, 2010, 09:09:46 AM »
I manually saved my game at Doing Things The Hard Way and quit (was getting a little too frustrated!). I restarted the game just now and not only did it put me at my last teleporter, it also wiped out a big chunk of my stats.. I've only got 24 minutes and ~100 deaths now.
When you "CONTINUE," you get two options:  "CONTINUE FROM LAST TELEPORTER" or "CONTINUE FROM QUICK SAVE."  You probably accidentally selected the "CONTINUE FROM LAST TELEPORTER" option.

techknight

  • Crewmate
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports Go Here
« Reply #13 on: January 11, 2010, 09:18:17 AM »
I manually saved my game at Doing Things The Hard Way and quit (was getting a little too frustrated!). I restarted the game just now and not only did it put me at my last teleporter, it also wiped out a big chunk of my stats.. I've only got 24 minutes and ~100 deaths now.
When you "CONTINUE," you get two options:  "CONTINUE FROM LAST TELEPORTER" or "CONTINUE FROM QUICK SAVE."  You probably accidentally selected the "CONTINUE FROM LAST TELEPORTER" option.

I tried again and that option didn't come up.. I figured out what happened: In that map/options screen, I moved to Save, pressed the Enter key, then it went back to the game and assumed that it had saved my game. Turns out that only the Action Button does anything and Enter just closes the menu.. That's really confusing to me. Feels like the menu should appear by pressing Escape and the action button *and* enter should activate stuff in it.

SoulEye

  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 217
    • View Profile
    • SoulEye Digital Music (Get the VVVVVV Soundtrack here!)
Re: Bug Reports Go Here
« Reply #14 on: January 11, 2010, 09:31:36 AM »
SPOILER ALERT!

... Ok you are warned. After dying in "Prize for the reckless" and respawning, having freed the moving platform, the destructible platforms respawned, and one of them spawned INSIDE the moving platform, causing it to go pingpong in and out of that block, effectively preventing it from moving across the screen. Dying didn't help. Had to redo the run, and time it so that the moving block was well out of reach of the respawning blocks.
« Last Edit: January 11, 2010, 09:46:22 AM by SoulEye »