Author Topic: Bug Reports Go Here  (Read 34503 times)

Terry

  • Administrator
  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 606
    • View Profile
    • distractionware
Re: Bug Reports Go Here
« Reply #30 on: January 13, 2010, 01:17:27 PM »
I'm in the final area, on flip mode, and at the bottom of the screen, where if I remeber correctly it should show the room name, it says 'glitch'



After turning off the

Spoilers!!!

Dimensional Stabiliser


/Spoilers!!!

It now says 'change'

Haha, wow - that's an interesting one ;D

(the room names for any room that "glitches" or "changes" are just stored as "glitch" and "change" and there's a bit of code that works out what it *actually* is - but I guess I forgot to include it in the menu code :) )

Zmannnn

  • Crewmate
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports Go Here
« Reply #31 on: January 13, 2010, 02:01:25 PM »
I've had the game freeze when saving after completing a level more than 6 times now.  The screen with the teleporter I went through stays up and the music continues, but no further action is possible.  It did actually save, though.

xbskid

  • Crewmate
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports Go Here
« Reply #32 on: January 14, 2010, 05:49:19 PM »
I was in The Tower & i tryed teleporting back to ship from the Enter Menu, but it diden't teleport, all the controls stoped working & it just kept restarting the level back form the last checkpoint
I encountered this as well.

Requiem

  • Crewmate
  • **
  • Posts: 38
  • Musician, Game Streamer, Aspiring Game Developer
    • View Profile
    • VidyaGameZ.com
Re: Bug Reports Go Here
« Reply #33 on: January 14, 2010, 10:35:17 PM »
I found this one kind of funny, to be honest. I was playing through again tonight to test how fast I could do it, and I paused the game inside the Gravitron in Intermission 2 (I wanted to see how many times I had died so far). When I paused the game, it asked "Do you want to return to the Secret Laboratory?" And, just to see what would happen, I clicked yes. It teleported me to "Outer Space"  where Veridian just falls through the screen endlessly, and the Pipe Dream secret lab music is playing. This also works if you go into Play Modes and select Intermission 2.
Screenshot:

ndv

  • Crewmate
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports Go Here
« Reply #34 on: January 15, 2010, 09:30:06 AM »
On the Mac, VVVVVV sets itself as the default application for opening swf files, presumably because it includes a standalone Flash player.  Double-clicking on swf files results in VVVVVV opening, in addition to the file you click on.

(VVVVVV is awesome by the way.  I just finally managed to get all 20 shiny things today  :viridian:)

maxporter

  • Crewmate
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports Go Here
« Reply #35 on: January 15, 2010, 02:13:35 PM »
Another mac bug.

I can't hide VVVVVV, either via the keystroke shortcut or the menu.

Applekid

  • Doctor
  • ***
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports Go Here
« Reply #36 on: January 15, 2010, 02:22:33 PM »
Ooh, I found a sad one.

Start No-Death mode, exit to main menu. Will get shown "Continue Game" but the old save is gone. I don't know if merely accessing No-Death mode will clobber the save, but, since you can't save in that mode anyway, it really shouldn't!

Mercen4ry

  • Crewmate
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports Go Here
« Reply #37 on: January 15, 2010, 08:13:49 PM »
Three general bugs. Note I'm not using any special modes, just standard play:

1) Reloading a Quicksave in The Tower results in the player spawning offscreen and dying immediately before the camera catches up. This is why my current file has three deaths. ;)

2) If you die while still on a (vertically-oriented) flip wire, the player spawns slightly over the checkpoint and a "plink!" from the wire is heard. There appears to be no other effect.

3) It's possible to get caught on the lower wire of the Gravitron in Intermission 2, flipping endlessly back and forth without moving. I couldn't tell you for the life of me how I managed to do that.

Also, is it intended behavior to be able to run across spikes oriented like this?
                           O
-----------------> ---
                           /\
======]><[=========
======]><[=========
 \/
--- <------------------
 O

Inquiring minds wish to know! :)


PS: how do you intend to roll out the new binaries as you fix bugs? :)

krizoitz

  • Crewmate
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports Go Here
« Reply #38 on: January 16, 2010, 07:53:48 PM »
Mac version bugs:

1. Game stops upon reaching the first teleporter
2. Quiting the game all saves are gone.

Requiem

  • Crewmate
  • **
  • Posts: 38
  • Musician, Game Streamer, Aspiring Game Developer
    • View Profile
    • VidyaGameZ.com
Re: Bug Reports Go Here
« Reply #39 on: January 16, 2010, 09:13:10 PM »
Mac version bugs:

1. Game stops upon reaching the first teleporter
2. Quiting the game all saves are gone.


Those are interesting bugs... I've never had those happen with my mac... strange.

Mercen4ry

  • Crewmate
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports Go Here
« Reply #40 on: January 17, 2010, 02:59:15 AM »
One additional minor bug:

There's a name conflict between normal play and Time Trials in "Prize for the Reckless". In the latter case, the name appears as, "Imagine Spikes There, If you Like it". Not game-breaking, but noticeable. :)

eyf

  • Crewmate
  • **
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports Go Here
« Reply #41 on: January 17, 2010, 07:48:48 AM »
Umm.. that's not a bug ;-)

Applekid

  • Doctor
  • ***
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports Go Here
« Reply #42 on: January 17, 2010, 08:28:47 AM »
One additional minor bug:

There's a name conflict between normal play and Time Trials in "Prize for the Reckless". In the latter case, the name appears as, "Imagine Spikes There, If you Like it". Not game-breaking, but noticeable. :)

For some strange reason, I didn't even notice. Doing the time trial I just blazed through that room expecting not being able to get it. LOL
Perhaps I really did imagine spikes there?

Mercen4ry

  • Crewmate
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: Bug Reports Go Here
« Reply #43 on: January 17, 2010, 02:27:03 PM »
Umm.. that's not a bug ;-)
(Post flattened, because this is expected behavior:

Quote from: @terrycavanagh
How can I make this sentence shorter without losing any information? "Pretend the spikes are there if you like" ["if you like" is important]
(it's for if you get to the "prize for the reckless" trinket while playing the time trial, the room is slightly different)
(if you get there in no-death mode, the room is called "I can't believe you got this far")

Yes, I feel foolish. :-X)
« Last Edit: January 17, 2010, 05:16:15 PM by Mercen4ry »

StephenM3

  • Professor
  • ****
  • Posts: 122
    • View Profile
    • Cloud Cover (my games)
Re: Bug Reports Go Here
« Reply #44 on: January 17, 2010, 03:17:11 PM »
Actually, the room's name is changed to that because some spikes that are normally in that room are missing in the Time Trial.  (Otherwise a V rank would be impossible.)  The name change reflects the difference in the room.  (If you look back a ways in Terry's twitter, he was asking people for help in regards to the wording for that room name.)