Author Topic: Game doesn't recognize player levels  (Read 8021 times)

CrazyBeast

  • Crewmate
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Game doesn't recognize player levels
« on: December 02, 2014, 08:45:44 am »
Hello!

Bought VVVVVV a week ago on steam and realy enjoyed this awsome game. Just finished main compain and all player levels that were initialy included.

Now im trying to download and install more levels, but... game doesn't see them. It says that i need to place them into user/??? ?????????/VVVVVV/levels. I do so, but no additional levels appear in the list. (question marks indicate a different langauge, as long as i have a russian version of windows. Can this cause a problem?).

I also tried to add levels directly into archive in steam/SteamApps/common/vvvvvv, but it says "archive is corrupted".

Additionaly, i can't load my own saved levels.

How can i fix this problem? Thx.
« Last Edit: December 02, 2014, 09:39:52 am by CrazyBeast »

allison

  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 926
  • monolithic since 2012??
    • View Profile
    • Allison Fleischer
Re: Game doesn't recognize player levels
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2014, 11:36:31 pm »
Huh... Are there any non-English characters in the path? That's the only thing I can think of that would cause the problem?

CrazyBeast

  • Crewmate
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Game doesn't recognize player levels
« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2014, 07:40:20 am »
Huh... Are there any non-English characters in the path? That's the only thing I can think of that would cause the problem?
Yes. Game recognizes the path user/??? ?????????/VVVVVV/levels ("My Documents" wrote in russian) in game menu, and says to copy new levels there. However, nothing happens if i do so.

I did create new folder user/My Documents/VVVVVV/levels, but in this case one needs to make VVVVVV check this new folder. How can i do that? I dunno.

CrazyBeast

  • Crewmate
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Game doesn't recognize player levels
« Reply #3 on: December 03, 2014, 07:45:14 am »
Well, the new levels folder is actually in AppData (can't check at the moment but try pressing Windows+R (run prompt) and enter "%appdata%\VVVVVV" without quotes)
There is no VVVVVV folder in my AppData. Recall that i have a steam version of the game.
« Last Edit: December 03, 2014, 07:47:08 am by CrazyBeast »

CrazyBeast

  • Crewmate
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Game doesn't recognize player levels
« Reply #4 on: December 03, 2014, 09:04:38 am »
Ok there is a solution, nonsatisfactory one but still...

I unzipped "data" archive from steam/SteamApps/common/vvvvvv, copied new level into "levels", and zipped in back. Now game sees new level.

But its frustraiting to do it every time i need to save and load my own levels. Still need a better solution.

CrazyBeast

  • Crewmate
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Game doesn't recognize player levels
« Reply #5 on: December 03, 2014, 11:16:38 am »
Same problem in "Make and Play" edition.

allison

  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 926
  • monolithic since 2012??
    • View Profile
    • Allison Fleischer
Re: Game doesn't recognize player levels
« Reply #6 on: December 04, 2014, 12:37:41 am »
Well, I guess the only way to resolve is is getting Terry to fix it

Dav999

  • Global Moderator
  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 2183
    • View Profile
    • The Open Level Project
Re: Game doesn't recognize player levels
« Reply #7 on: December 04, 2014, 07:39:52 am »
Is there a folder in AppData referring to Steam? Has the Make and Play edition made its own VVVVVV folder?

Actually, what path is listed by the game in the player levels menu?

CrazyBeast

  • Crewmate
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Game doesn't recognize player levels
« Reply #8 on: December 04, 2014, 09:21:37 am »
Is there a folder in AppData referring to Steam?
Nope.


Actually, what path is listed by the game in the player levels menu?
user/??? ?????????/VVVVVV/levels


Has the Make and Play edition made its own VVVVVV folder?
Same old user/??? ?????????/VVVVVV/levels.


Well, I guess the only way to resolve is is getting Terry to fix it
I guess you are right.
Terry! This dimension needs you! Plz?
« Last Edit: December 04, 2014, 09:24:00 am by CrazyBeast »

Terry

  • Administrator
  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 608
    • View Profile
    • distractionware
Re: Game doesn't recognize player levels
« Reply #9 on: December 04, 2014, 01:53:21 pm »
Weird :( Could you please take a screenshot of where the game says your player level directory is? The levels are clearly installed somewhere, so I don't know what's going wrong...

CrazyBeast

  • Crewmate
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Game doesn't recognize player levels
« Reply #10 on: December 04, 2014, 03:06:59 pm »
Weird :( Could you please take a screenshot of where the game says your player level directory is? The levels are clearly installed somewhere, so I don't know what's going wrong...
Sure. Attached archive with 4 screenshots.

Fisrt screenshot: directory recongized by game.
Second screenshot: created a simple level. Saved it.
Third screenshot: level is in this directory.
Forth screenshot: tried to load. Loaded an empty level.

Same thing happens if i try to install new levels into this directory. Game doesn't see and can't load them.

But levels can be loaded and edited if i insert them into archive in steam directory (read above), which is boring (unzip, zip back every time i edit my level).
« Last Edit: December 04, 2014, 03:09:54 pm by CrazyBeast »

i'm not petrikov

  • Doctor
  • ***
  • Posts: 41
  • avatar by infoteddy!
    • View Profile
Re: Game doesn't recognize player levels
« Reply #11 on: December 06, 2014, 08:00:29 am »
Can this cause a problem?
uh, yes
i guess simon roth didn't implement handing special characters of vvvvvv and there was probably no incentive to do so because there are no versions of vvvvvv in different languages

Terry

  • Administrator
  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 608
    • View Profile
    • distractionware
Re: Game doesn't recognize player levels
« Reply #12 on: December 06, 2014, 09:04:23 pm »
Weird :( Could you please take a screenshot of where the game says your player level directory is? The levels are clearly installed somewhere, so I don't know what's going wrong...
Sure. Attached archive with 4 screenshots.

Fisrt screenshot: directory recongized by game.
Second screenshot: created a simple level. Saved it.
Third screenshot: level is in this directory.
Forth screenshot: tried to load. Loaded an empty level.

Same thing happens if i try to install new levels into this directory. Game doesn't see and can't load them.

But levels can be loaded and edited if i insert them into archive in steam directory (read above), which is boring (unzip, zip back every time i edit my level).

Ok, that's really helpful and clear, thank you!

It looks like the level import code doesn't work with unicode folder names. I'll talk to Ethan Lee and see if he has time to fix it - it might well be a pretty straightforward fix!

CrazyBeast

  • Crewmate
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Game doesn't recognize player levels
« Reply #13 on: December 07, 2014, 07:25:47 am »
Ok, that's really helpful and clear, thank you!

It looks like the level import code doesn't work with unicode folder names. I'll talk to Ethan Lee and see if he has time to fix it - it might well be a pretty straightforward fix!
Ok, thank you!

Can you please keep me informed through this topic?

SJMistery

  • Captain
  • *****
  • Posts: 458
    • View Profile
Re: Game doesn't recognize player levels
« Reply #14 on: December 07, 2014, 08:12:00 pm »
Weird :( Could you please take a screenshot of where the game says your player level directory is? The levels are clearly installed somewhere, so I don't know what's going wrong...
Sure. Attached archive with 4 screenshots.

Fisrt screenshot: directory recongized by game.
Second screenshot: created a simple level. Saved it.
Third screenshot: level is in this directory.
Forth screenshot: tried to load. Loaded an empty level.

Same thing happens if i try to install new levels into this directory. Game doesn't see and can't load them.

But levels can be loaded and edited if i insert them into archive in steam directory (read above), which is boring (unzip, zip back every time i edit my level).

Ok, that's really helpful and clear, thank you!

It looks like the level import code doesn't work with unicode folder names. I'll talk to Ethan Lee and see if he has time to fix it - it might well be a pretty straightforward fix!

and i hope it's soon, my idea of fixing levels has been interrupted by this glitch

sorry for the OT but: Terry! you still here! we were worried. and i am still waiting for the "tower-like level" script ;)